Dan and I have always talked about turning the little area at the side of the house with the washing line into a Japanese style Garden. However now it will have to serve dual purposes, as we are thinking of keeping the chickens there when we get a puppy, (of course the chickens will be let out when we are home, but I just don’t want them to be left alone together).

Because it is where we hang out the washing, I think I mentioned in a previous post that I wanted to grow fragrant flowers there too.

Therefore I think this area is going to be quite a pastiche of different things. But this is how i’m looking at it:

If I was living in a city in Japan, it is more that likely that I would be very lucky to have that small area of space to have a garden. Therefore I want to make that area into a modern Japanese backyard, (or at least my interpretation of one). I’m not really sure how it is going to work out, or even lay out, but thats my idea.

Research:

Japanese Courtyards

Burke’s Backyard

Other links:
The Landscape Design Site
Building a Deer Scare (Japanese Fountain)
Meditations on Japanese Gardens

Plus two Japanese gardeners blogs: (if you know anymore please tell me)

http://kokonuggetyumyum.blogspot.com/
http://japanesegarden.wordpress.com/

Flickr Inspiration:

Courtyard Spring by yuan2003.
Courtyard by liquidarts.
Ryokan's garden by Suviko.
Ryokan Garden Path by SW6_Mark.
