while reading a book on herb and vegetable gardening this week, i came across a picture of an item lying on a lavender bush, noting that items used to be dried on lavender, the scent infusing with the item. And I thought that would be a great idea for the japanese inspired garden I want to put around in the area around the washing line.

If I chose plants specifically for their scent, and planted out the garden in a japanese way, I could create something quite sweet.

I already have a gardenia ready to plant out in the garden. So now I need to research scented plants:

Hellebores

Scented-leaf geraniums (Pelargonium)

Heliotrope

Osmanthus

Lavender

Mintia

Sweet Peas

Daphne

Roses

Rose at Yoyogi Park

Rose at Yoyogi Park

Info from Yates Garden Calendar, Burke’s BackyardBetter Homes and Gardens, BAAG,

