During one of the very hot days last week a bushfire was sparked not very far away from my place. They got it under control quite quickly, which is lucky because a friend is right on the edge of that bush.

However it made me take notice, and really become aware that I need to take a look at my garden, and fix up quite a few issues around my house…

  1. roof and guttering is full of leaves which need to cleared out
  2. the front section of our garden is covered in leaf litter and really needs to be cleared too.
  3. the very front part of the garden is filled with this tall dry grass which is ugly anyway but could possibly spark something…
  4. i discovered today that the compost heap at the back of the house isn’t actually composting, rather dry jasmine growing and taking root in the compost heap.

I started this weekend, and hopefully I can at least move some of the leaf litter out of the front garden. But still, fingers crossed that bushfires don’t come any closer to our house…

